Safeguarding Adults


Thanks to the 2014 Care Act, the legislation on safeguarding adults in vulnerable circumstances has changed. Now, more areas of abuse are legally recognized, making it all the more important for you and your staff to be thoroughly trained in protecting adults and children in social care settings.

Everyone deserves to live their life how they want to - preventing vulnerable Service Users from doing so is abuse, whether it’s a case of improper use of restrictive practice or putting the needs of the caregiving organisational before the needs of the individual service users. The 2014 Care Act now recognises ten key areas of abuse, rather than the 6 categories previously outlined.

It’s important to realise that not all abuse is obvious. By reporting it you aren't making a fuss or a mountain out of a molehill, you're expressing concern for an individual to an authority who can do something to improve the abused individual's quality of life. 

Safeguarding Adults is a fundamental requirement of top quality care. BVS Training offers comprehensive and in-depth training in recognising abuse to vulnerable adults and avoiding behaviour that could be having a detrimental effect on Service Users.

BVS extensive training courses are completely up to date, offering relevant information on how to spot and prevent all categories of abuse, as well as who to inform and procedures surrounding abusive behaviour. All courses cover the Care Certificate training requirements and are fully accredited and certificated.

Abuse of Adults with 
Learning Difficulties 
Safeguarding Adults 
in the Care Home
Home Care 9: 
Safeguarding Adults
Adult Abuse: 
Basic Awareness


2014 Care Act - Types of Abuse

1. Physical Abuse
2. Emotional and Psychological Abuse 
3. Financial Abuse
4. Sexual Abuse
5. Organisational Abuse 
6. Neglect
7. Discriminatory Abuse 
8. Domestic Violence 
9. Modern Slavery 
10. Self -Neglect


Back to Top